Blog Post #1 for CPD – A Formal Email

Dear Brad,

My name is Jenson Seah pursuing the Hospitality Business programme, your year two student in seminar group 3 for the module; Career and Professional Development II. I am writing in regards to the task requirement, and I am dedicating my first ever blog post to you.

Before entering Singapore Institute of Technology, I studied Integrated Events and Project Management in Singapore Polytechnic from 2012 to 2015 where I acquired a combination of event and business management skills and technical expertise. These also include event creation, marketing, branding, promotion, public relations, logistics, audio visual systems, procurement, costing and budgeting. I was also attached to an experiential marketing and strategic events company for six months during my internship and gained relevant hospitality experience. The technical knowledge, as well as the six months internship, was truly enjoyable and rewarding. After going through my internship, I found myself drawn into the events industry and committed to enter the same industry for my future career. My other professional experiences also include working as a Human Resources Trainee in Holiday Inn Singapore Atrium and a Constituency Support Executive in People’s Association.

For communication, I would consider my ability to receive and give constructive criticism as well as providing critical feedback as part of my strength. Giving critical feedback has always provided my peers and colleagues more ideas or rooms for improvement, and subsequently, everyone benefited from a better work result. Separately, my use of grammar would be one aspect that I would like to improve on.

I aim to refine my communication skills by going through the following lessons with you and thank you for reading this assignment.

Kind Regards,

Jenson Seah

Email: Jenson.Seah_2015@SIT.SingaporeTech.edu.sg

UPDATED AS OF 29 JANUARY

6 thoughts on “Blog Post #1 for CPD – A Formal Email

  1. Dear Jenson,

    Thank you for this initial post, the formal letter. It is clear, concise and rather informative. You mention, for example, that you studied integrated events and project management in the polytechnic and that through your coursework and in your internships you got extensive hands on experience in quite a few areas. You also mention areas that you consider strengths and weaknesses in your communication.

    What might strengthen the content of this letter would be for you to elaborate a bit more with specific details. What areas of study in particular did you find rewarding, and why? Did any specific activity really draw your interest? Why do you see providing critical feedback as one of your strengths?

    I might also add that while I appreciate you dedicating your “first ever blog post” to me, that might be considered a little strange in a formal letter. In any case, I really appreciate your effort here and looking forward to reading more form you this term.

    Best wishes,

    Brad

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Brad,

      I apologize for the late response and would like to thank you for being critical in providing feedback.

      I have made some slight changes after reading through your comments, hopefully it has strengthen the email content.

      Warmest Regards,
      Jenson

      Like

  2. Dear Jenson,

    I like your blog’s template as it is simple and neat. Your self-introduction is also straightforward and easy to understand.

    I am impressed by the number of experience you have with regards to the hotel and MICE sector of the hospitality industry. Apart from being able to receive criticism well and give constructive feedback, is there any other strengths that you might have in communications? To me, you are someone that is able to speak well in front of a big crowd, given that you have higher/better confidence unlike me. I guess that is also considered a strength of you?

    I enjoyed reading your blog! 🙂 Hope you can improve on your weaknesses in time to come!

    With regards,
    Jasmine

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Jasmine,

      Thank you for the comments and I apologize for the late response!

      I am still getting used to blogging as this is my first time doing this.

      On the strength aspect, I did consider including other communication strength but I thought that by focusing on one strength that I personally resonate the most would bring more impact as opposed to giving a list of strengths. Still, I do think that adding more strength and elaborate on them would certainty make the content much stronger!

      Again, thank you for thinking that I am a public speaker. In fact, I am very afraid of public speaker and I tend to look at the walls behind the audience to create the “image” that I am holding eye contacts with the audience. It helps in easing my nerves as well.

      Warmest Regards,
      Jenson Seah

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Jenson,

    I enjoyed reading your email. It’s nice to know that we graduated from the same polytechnic and same course even! It must have been nice to have a 6-month internship from DEPM, you probably have definitely gained more exposure than I did with my 6-week internship back in 2010. I look forward to learning with you in CPD 2 class!

    Regards,
    Glenda

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Glenda,

      Its good to know that we are course-mates of different batches and now we are in the same specialization even. It is heartening to see us staying in the events industry and be passionate about what we have learnt.

      Warmest Regards,
      Jenson Seah

      Like

Leave a comment