Personal Branding towards Communication

Being an extremist certainly, do not fit my way of interacting with people. In oppose to the communication climates model, I do not see myself belonging to either supporting or defensive behaviours. I believe that I play a part in creating that atmosphere for communication, be it a tensed or open-minded environment. Being adaptable to different social situations is a lifelong learning process for me, different situations require different communicating behaviours, no one could ever say they have completely encountered every type of social situations.

Various social encounters require a varied approach to how I combine my communication behaviours from the two distinct spectrums. For instance, I have been taking the role of a team leader for many group projects in SIT and the different mix of people I worked with, sometimes requires me to be Egalitarian for the group to respect me as a leader; at times I have to be acting like a superior or even controlling to push my groupmates further to finish their assigned tasks on hand.

Of course, different people might have different approaches I have to use, but occasionally, the same group of people might also need a change of behavioural approach to them. People get mood swings at times, affected by school work or even personal matters at home, and depending on how they are feeling at the moment; you have to employ different communication behaviour to handle the whole communication climate to prevent teamwork being comprised, especially in the communication aspect. Losing team communication is the first step to destroying the team spirit and eventually, straining the relationship of everyone in the group.

I like to think myself as an adaptable person, who is also open for group discussions. Every situation requires a different approach, and this is where I come in as a mediator to help piece things up. If there is a problem, I analyse it and call for open discussion among team members. The most important thing is never taking sides and try to balance the supportive and defensive behaviours to make things work.

2 thoughts on “Personal Branding towards Communication

  1. Dear Jenson,

    Thank you for your entry and for your comment on my written post as well.

    Your post shows that you have understood the topic of personal branding and applied it to a specific scenario: your role within a team when managing school work.

    Having worked with you on multiple projects before, it is without doubt that you have accurately described your thoughts with close reference to the learnings in the module and shared them through the above words.

    You have displayed excellent understanding of the concept, and reflected a stupendous depth of reflection in a well-structured manner.

    If I could suggest an area for improvement, it would be to further improve the flow of the sentences. This could perhaps be done through the constant reading of more news articles, biographies and commercial articles. This would apply to myself as well.

    Best regards,
    Skye Tan

    Like

    • Hi Skye,

      Thank you for your suggestion.

      I am constantly working on improving my writing and I believe that by reading, it will be the first step to do so.

      Also, I appreciate your kind compliments and I also hope that I will be able to apply all the concepts learnt in this class in real life.

      Kind Regards,
      Jenson Seah

      Like

Leave a comment